Street Food Awards 2014 – south-east heat June 14th @ Street Diner

Street Diner Street Food Awards Poster

Street Diner Street Food Awards Poster

As most folk know, I have a loving and enduring relationship with food. I really don’t understand those “food is a fuel” types who seemingly gain little to no pleasure from cooking or *shock horror* eating food. I mean, are you CRAZY?! Sheesh.

You probably also know that I have a soft spot for street food from around the world, especially of the meaty variety, and am a huge (if not the number one, ahem) fan of Brighton’s Street Diner, albeit I rarely have the pleasure of visiting as I work out of town. I know; life is cruel sometimes. Fortunately for me the very lovely Kate and Chris hauled ass to Sussex Uni earlier this year and I was able to devour some delights from one of my favourite (m)eateries Bar-B-Q Shack. I’d like to think the sojourn was especially for me, but I suppose students need tasty treats too, what with their regular diet of Pot Noodles and such.

*UPDATE 31st May 2014 – Street Diner is back in town every Saturday! *does celebratory dance*

Fast forward a few months to the present day and you’ll be pleased to learn that not only does Street Diner now have a weekly slot at Hove Town Hall, but those canny ladies (I use the term loosely, don’t worry you two!) have rallied the troops for entry into the British Street Food Awards!

What does this entail and how can I get involved, I hear you ask? Read on…

The entries for the southeast heat are as follows:

Olly The Chef- not only does Olly supply the hungry Brighton & Hove workers with tasty, gourmet fish fingers at Street Diner, he’s also a community chef. What a doll.

The Troll’s Pantry – the favourite supernatural burger-touting being, the troll can be sure to concoct creations to satisfy the hunger of every carnivorous mortal.

Toston Tolon – arepas aplenty from these Venezuelan Street Diner veterans, bringing a new taste explosion to the street food scene.

Ahimsa- purveyors of mystical vegetarian and vegan delights from India and beyond…

Crocus Paella! Paella!- traditional Spanish paella made with authentic Greek saffron cooked in gigantic pans that mesmerise passers-by.

Cin Cin – currently in residence at the Spiegel Garden, Cin Cin’s delicious morsels and glasses of bubbles will keep festival goers nourished this season.

Little Blue Smokehouse- from the country to the city, the little brother of Crowborough’s Blue Anchor smokes up a host of treats, including salted chocolate bacon, if you know the code word…

Likkle Bickle- home to the renowned Ribwich, this is soulful Caribbean food at its finest.

Honeycomb Cakes- tasty treats abound to satisfy the sweetest of tooths. Also known to knock up a mean bacon fudge.

Sultan’s Delights– sumptuous savoury vegetarian lunchboxes fit for a sultan (and regular folk).

One of the things I love most about Street Diner (after the food, obviously) is the sense of community it has brought – between the traders themselves (just check out their support of each other on Twitter) and across the city. ALL of these guys deserve to win, but there can be only one… So get shouting about your favourites on social media, using the hashtag #bsfa.

You can vote for your favourite on the Street Food Awards 2014 app and at the event itself on 14th June – Street Diner, Brighthelm Gardens, Queens Road, Brighton. BE THERE OR BE HUNGRY! 

Oh, did I mention I’m one of the judges for the Southeast? How I wangled that I don’t know, but DREAM COME TRUE YO! I’ll be posting up a little bit about my choices here on soon! Until then, if any of the traders entered want to bribe me with gifts of food send them to me at…just kidding, I can’t be bought! Or can I…?

Check out my slideshow from when Street Diner came to Sussex Uni for a taster:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response to “Street Food Awards 2014 – south-east heat June 14th @ Street Diner

  1. Pingback: Street Food Awards 2014 – south-east heat June 14th @ Street Diner | The Scribes of Snafflepuss

Leave a Reply

